Hickory High recognizes outstanding achievement

HICKORY.– During the annual Academic Honors Banquet for Hickory High School, 545 students were recognized for achieving excellence In education. Each of the students earned a grade average of 93 or higher.

Held at the Tarlton Complex,CVCC,the students and their guests were wel­comed by Ann Stalnaker, principal of Hickory High. The. invocation was provided by Alex Arditti,  HHS  student council president, with the presentation of colors by the JROTC flag team. The national anthem was performed by the HHS Honors Chorus and remarks were provided by Chris Mundy, banquet chair.

The guest speaker for the evening was Attorney Charles R. Young Sr., who is a 1960 graduate of Hick­ory High School. Young con­gratulated the students, particularly the seniors, on their achievements. Young shared ten pointers on what it takes to enjoy a successful life: “Be honest; do not let fear of failure stop you; carry a sense of humor, do not take yourself too seriously; be kind (what goes around comes around); maintain humility; don’t wait until you are 70 to do what you want to do; don’t be intimidated by the concept, Everything’s easy if you know how to do it; maintain a moral compass for evaluating right from wrong; be sure to find something you just plain enjoy; and for all generalizations, there are  always exceptions”

In closing, Young encour­aged the seniors to go off to  their next phase of life, gain additional education and training, and to enjoy the journey.

Recipients of the awards represented each class, freshmen through seniors. The awards were presented by Ann Stalnaker, and HHS counselors, Jennie Lovelace and Toni Scott.

The recognized HHS seniors include: Hannah Alms, Heather Anderson, Alex Arditti, Destiny Ban­ner, Sloane’ Barnhardt, Brenda Baxter, Josh Boleman, Flynn Bolick, Natalie Bolick, Troy Bolick, Ashlyn Brisben, Madison Broome, Keyarra Bumgarner, Caroline Comer, Daniel Cotton, Quinton Covington, Lance Dagenhardt, Emma Dahlsten, Catherine Dale, Chase Delgatti, Chris Dix­on, Frankie Frann, Amanda Fuller, Christian Galic, Jenna Geltman, Kayla Goebelcker, Seul Bin Han, Carmen Hefner, Charlie Ho, Raven Horne, Aja Hoyle, Haley Huckabee, Brenham Hughes, Katherine Jones, Mirranda Jones, Nadia Juerges, Janie Kennedy, Saba Khan, Zach Killian, Ashley Knapp, Liz Kunkel, Jessica L’Amoreaux, Josh Lariscy, Khadijah, Lewis Anna Liringis, Jackie Lomboy, Matthew Mason, Talea McCormick, Abigail McRae, Todd Mendenhall, Gibbs Meres, Andrea Miller,  James Mitchell, Rachel Morford, Alex Myers, Katie O’Brien, Hannah Packer, Audrey Palombo, Connor Pilgrim, Caroline Poole, Nathan Poole, Stephen Propst, Douglas Rowe, Willie Sauer, Cara Scheil, Aaron Schmidt, Forest Sigmon, Caroline Smith, Savannah Sowers, Madison Stemple, Tyler Taraska, Kylie Taylor, James Trollan, Lindsay Turner, Ben Underwood, Steven Vang, Christy Vue, Rachel Walker, Clara Williams, Jack Williams, Alivesmon Yang, and Anna Yount.

Members of the HHS Academic Honors Committee include Angie Pisel, president, Debbie Lariscy, treasurer, Chris Mundy, banquet chair, Beth L’Amoreaux, secre­tary, Jennie Lovelace, Faculty liaison, Leslie Knapp, celebrations, and Mary Frances Comer, banquet program.

Event sponsors include: the Barber family, Dr. Richard Carlton, Crockett and Liza Dale, Drs Darab & Richardson, PA, Lena F. Eldridge, DDS, Jeff and Marsha Gniadek, Graysione Eye, Nancy F. Matheson, Reed and Fisher Dermatology, William C. Reynolds Co., Young, Morphis, Bach and Taylor, LLP, the Taylor family, Brown and Neuwirth, Dale Jarrett Foundation, Inc., Hickory Cardiology, Merchants Distributors, Inc., Pepsi-Cola Bottling of Hickory,  Unifour Anesthesia Associates, PA, Frye Regional Medical Center, Hamilton and Her­ring Orthodontics, Hickory Adult Medicine and Kidney Specialist, Hickory Springs Manufacturing Company, Shurtape Technologies LLC, Vanguard Furniture Co. Inc, and von Drehle Corporation.

Hickory Daily Record
Monday, May 14, 2012


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

, ,

Comments are closed.